Spicy Black Eyed Pea & Sweet Potato Stoup

How about a flavourful and heat loving blast into the New Year?
Healthy and sinus clearing, this is a lunch to knock that cold back outside where it belongs.

It’s been frigid and I’ve been sick. The extra sleep has been good, but I’m in need of a hug from the inside and this soup delivers.
Thick like a veggie stew, it’s not too spicy but still turns up the heat with seasonal, hearty goodness.
Phew.
I’m almost feeling better already.


SPICY BLACK EYED PEA + SWEET POTATO SOUP

1-2 Tablespoons Safflower or Vegetable oil
2 Onions, diced
2 Stalks of Celery, diced
4-5 cloves garlic, chopped
2 cups dried black-eyed peas, picked over & rinsed
6 cups water
1 teaspoon Oregano, dried
1/2 teaspoon Rosemary, dried
1 Sweet Potato, peeled and diced, about 2 1/2 cups once diced
1 16-ounce can San Mariano Tomatoes, diced
4 cups  Vegetable Broth
1/3 Cup Mixed Grain & Brown Rice
1 tablespoon Sriracha Hot Sauce
1/2 teaspoon Smoked Sweet Paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Heat the oil in a pressure cooker or a large pot.
Add the onions and sauté for about 3 minutes, until they begin to soften.
Add the celery and garlic to the onions, stirring, for 3 minutes more.
Add the black-eyed peas, water along with the dried oregano.
Seal the pressure cooker and bring to a boil. Once it locks and begins to steam, cook for 10 minutes under high pressure.
Remove from heat and release pressure. (If you’re cooking in a regular soup pot, the boil for about 50 or until the peas are tender.
Add cubed sweet potato, tomatoes, along with all their juice and the vegetable stock.
Return the pot to medium-high heat. Bring it to a rolling simmer.
Add rice, Sriracha, paprika, rosemary, salt and pepper, then continue to cook until the sweet potatoes are soft, about 15 minutes.

This post was highlighted on

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

9 thoughts on “Spicy Black Eyed Pea & Sweet Potato Stoup”

  1. Looks lovely (as usual), Dayna, but how much sweet potato should one add?
    Oh my, sicker than I thought, I guess.
    I peeled and diced one whole medium sweet potato into the soup. They were a rough 3/4″ dice for nice, big chunks. It measured out around 2 1/2 cups.
    I’ve updated the ingredients list. It’s worth making, especially with sweet potato in it:)

  2. I had this soup. She brought some over to my house and it was as good as the picture looks. Yum. A keeper.

  3. This just in… I just had to share:
    I reheated leftovers for lunch and like most soup, it’s better the next day. But I’d cubed an avocado to go on the soup and the creamy coolness of the avocado put it over the top! yum.

  4. I hope you’re feeling much better after this was posted. This soup looks really delish. I saw your site from the foodieblogroll and if you won’t mind, I’d love to guide foodista readers to your site.Just add a foodista widget at the end of this blog post and it’s ready to go.Thanks!

  5. This is awesome with a big handful of fresh chopped cilantro scattered over the serving bowls too.

    This is the third or fourth time I’ve made it – it’s so cheap to make, and it’s SO delicious. Thank you so much!!

  6. Siracha in soup is TOTALLY awesome! I”m surprised at how versatile the sauce is and how amazing it makes the soup. This sweet potato soup sounds lovely. I love when there are actual vegetable chunks in soups and they’re not pureed into baby food. Thank you for the recipe!!

Leave a comment