Brown Sugar Scones

In response to a quick visit from an old friend coming for tea, I naturally made for the kitchen. I’d set aside my quest for a recipe to use up the copious amounts of extra coconut I had from the Perfect Party Cake and thought that the best morning treat with tea would have to be scones.

My friend is a super baker, so as I thought for a bit about tea from porcelain and creative flavour combinations, yet still I settled on simplicity and tradition.

Scones are standard pantry fare using most ingredients typically on hand. One of those ingredients for scones and pastry alike is chilled shortening. For this, I like to keep mine in the freezer, so it’s ready and waiting to keep whatever my cold hands have in mind for it to make light and flaky.

The scones are lightly sweetened with brown sugar and maple syrup, making them slightly caramelly. Quick to put together, the batter is easy and forgiving.

BROWN SUGAR SCONES

2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1/4 Cup Dark Brown Sugar, loosely packed + 1 Tablespoon
1 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 Cup Vegetable Shortening
3/4 Cup Soy Milk
1/2 Cup Maple Syrup

Preheat the oven to 400ºF.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, 1/4 cup of brown sugar and salt.
Add and cut in the shortening with either two knives or a pastry cutter to a coarse crumb texture.
Add the milk and maple syrup and stir well with a wooden spoon until the dough comes together, finishing up by hand if necessary to form a ball.
Transfer the dough ball to the parchment lined baking sheet and flatten to 3/4″.
Cut the dough into 8 wedges and sprinke with the 1 tablespoon of remaining brown sugar.
Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes or until golden.

For something a little extra, you could try a drizzling of maple glaze or for a vegetarian version, a little of my latest addictions, David Lebovitz easy recipe for Dulce de Leche.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

20 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Scones”

  1. Vegan’s do not eat any animal products, but of course, Chiffonade, you could use almond, rice or cow’s milk and like Javamom, use butter, if that’s your choice, just make sure it’s cold.
    Either way, these make for pretty tasty tea biscuits!

  2. I randomly googled this recipe but subbed cold coconut oil for the shortening. Excellent! Thank you for a good maple syrup idea. It adds a nice subtle flavor. THESE ARE AMAZINGLY YUM.

  3. So i just put them in the oven, they look great, i hope they taste great! the pictures look fantastic!! Thanks!!
    I hope you enjoyed them!

  4. This was my first attempt at making scones and they turned out great! I used a mix of palm oil shortening and coconut oil for the veg. shortening & mostly honey in place of the maple syrup. I also added some raisins. I’m definitely adding this recipe to my files.

  5. I just made these for myself and some friends who had stayed over. They were so simple to put together and just sweet enough. I think blueberries would be a great addition…or a bit of nutmeg and almonds. Perfect as they are or as a backdrop for a little something extra. Thanks for a great recipe!

  6. I made these for Christmas brunch & they were a hit with the non vegans in the crowd. I made a couple revisions- only used white flour & added currants instead of maple syrup.
    My Mum was impressed with how flaky & delicious they were and I’m about to make another batch for guests who’ll be coming through during this week.

    Thanks again for posting this great recipe.

  7. just popped them into the oven….had to substitute earthbalance soy free spread (hope it works out) and almond milk for the soy based products. thanks for posting the recipe!

  8. These look delicious! I’m going to try and make them gluten free using Wholesome Chow’s Gluten Free All-Purpose/Pancake Mix instead of the wheat flours. I’ll let you know how they come out!

    veganbakerista.blogspot.com

  9. Hey Dayna! I made them last night and they are already almost gone! Everyone really loved them in their Gluten Free state. I made the Maple Glaze you have posted and it went really well on top of them. I’m planning on posting the recipe on my blog in the next couple of days. I’ll be sure to mention Vegan Visitor!

    veganbakerista.blogspot.com

    1. Awesome! I’m so glad they were a hit!
      I’ll be sure to check out your post when it’s up.
      Make sure to take a picture, if there are any left!!
      :D

Leave a comment