Maple Pumpkin Butter

I was a little hesitant on making this. I didn’t think I’d know what to do with it honestly. When one of my many pumpkins started going (and I’d found that I’d already made my repitoire of pumpkin goodies) I figured it was time.
Tasting along the way, this sugar-free variety kept it’s promises of tasting like the best of all pumpkin pies, but did I want that on my toast every morning? As delicious as it was, only days after making it, I’m finding that I didn’t make enough. A spoonful into pancake batter or with soy milk for french toast, pumpkin butter is perking up and making already great treats extraordinary.

MAPLE PUMPKIN BUTTER

2 Cups Pumpkin Purée
1 1/2 Cups Apple Juice
1/2 Cup Maple Syrup
2 teaspoons Cinnamon
1 teaspoon Freshly Ground Nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon Ground Ginger

Mix everything together in a food processor until well blended.
Add the mixture to a large saucepan and bring it to a simmer. Continue to cook on a low heat until the colour deepens and the purée reduces, about 1 hr.
Store in an air tight container or can to preserve, if desired.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

13 thoughts on “Maple Pumpkin Butter”

  1. I can’t tell you how glad I am you posted this. I had promised someone I would make and send pumpkin butter but I didn’t want to use a sugar laden recipe. This will be perfect!

  2. I just made a batch of this–wish I had seen your recipe first! Next time, I use maple syrup in mine. Like you, I just can’t seem to get enough of the stuff! :)

  3. how long will this stay good for in the fridge?
    If you preserve it and seal the jars it will stay on the shelf for at least a year. Otherwise, I’ve had it in the fridge for up to two weeks at least.

  4. I’m FINALLY getting around to making this spread – I assume that pumpkin purée can be substituted with canned pumpkin, no?
    Of course! Just not the pre-pie filling variety and you’re good to go. Enjoy!!

  5. About how much does one batch make once the mixture has reduced? I’m interested in doing some canning and was looking for a maple pumpkin butter recipe. I also wonder (if you have a large enough batch) if you can cook it in a crock pot? It might make a large batch a little easier. Thank you for sharing this!
    Depending on how long it’s simmered and reduced, I believe I ended up with 3, 250ml jars. About 3 cups.
    I think a crock pot would be a great way to make a larger batch of this. it’s really just consistency you’re after, so you could easily double or triple the recipe using whatever sized pumpkin you have and cook it for the day. Apple butter in the crock pot is great this time of year too!

Leave a comment