Smashed Summer Potatoes

IMG_8471

Can you tell it was a market day? These days are some of my favourite and I’m still trying to figure out what is the best summer food.
One might guess asparagus, berries, tomatoes or corn… but then there is the humble potato. Nothing screams summer dinner to me more than every including a cob of fresh corn, green beans and early treasures like baby potatoes.

There are about five thousand varieties of potatoes and ALL of them have to start out as babies.
These small, young, thin-skinned delights have just started to be robbed from the ground and sent to market on the same day. They are waiting to be boiled up and melt in your mouth.

Super easy, crazy delicious!

 

SMASHED SUMMER POTATOES

12 – 15 Baby New Potatoes
3 Tablespoons Olive Oil (about)
1 Tablespoon Chives, finely chopped
1 Tablespoon Dill, finely chopped
Zest of 1/2 Lemon
Salt & Pepper to taste.

In a large saucepan, boil the potatoes until fork tender.
Drain and score the bottom of each potato crosswise. Place knicked side down and smash each potato with your thumb or the back of a spoon to flatten.
Heat olive oil on medium high and sauté each side for about 3 – 5 minutes or until equally golden and crisp.
Remove potatoes to serving plate, reserving the remaining oil in the pan.
Sprinkle with salt, cracked pepper, herbs and lemon zest.

Serves 4

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

5 thoughts on “Smashed Summer Potatoes”

  1. Maybe I’ll make these tomorrow night for dinner. Easy and simple and I love the small size potatos! Got mine at last Friday’s market. Yum.

  2. These look so delicious, and not difficult at all. I’m guessing garlic greens are the chive-like greens you get when you plant garlic bulbs? I just have chives on hand, but I might just use that. Thanks!

    Belle

  3. Thanks everyone!
    These are the garlic scapes. I tend to use what I have in season but, regular chives, scallions or scapes would all work well I’m sure.
    The potato is humble and will work with just about anything!

  4. Having your Smashies w rough cut garlic; lamb chops, panfried w rosemary and dill and mint jelly; some yogurt on the side for the taters if people want.
    I scream for dessert.
    Tonight.
    –GuyonVacation

Leave a comment